The baptism of Jesus

Happy new year! It has been such a busy time for me with university deadlines, the children going back to school, and getting back to day to day routines. Leading has been thrust upon me more recently, mostly with my mouth opening and putting myself forward for things without my brain’s permission! However I have enjoyed it thoroughly! God is still prodding me and tapping me on the shoulder with his plan for me, at the moment it seems to be based around communion but that is a another story to tell soon!

Here is the talk I wrote for our family service today about the baptism of Jesus. We had great fun and I think the children learnt something! 

You will need a blue sheet, a paper dove and children helpers.

Today we are talking about the baptism of Jesus.
John the Baptist who lived in the wilderness, surviving on bugs and honey, was making a path for Jesus. 
John declared that the kingdom of heaven was near, by preaching a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins. 
People from all around went out to him. Confessing their sins and they were baptised by him in the River Jordan. 

Set up drama

  • Children hold blue sheet one at each end 
  • Pick John the Baptist
  • Pick Jesus
  • Pick the dove holder
  • Pick a person to say God’s message

Read the reading

The people were waiting expectantly and were all wondering in their hearts if John might possibly be the Messiah. John answered them all, ‘I baptise you with water. But one who is more powerful than I will come, the straps of whose sandals I am not worthy to untie. He will baptise you with the Holy Spirit and fire. His winnowing fork is in his hand to clear his threshing-floor and to gather the wheat into his barn, but he will burn up the chaff with unquenchable fire.’ When all the people were being baptised, Jesus was baptised too. And as he was praying, heaven was opened and the Holy Spirit descended on him in bodily form like a dove. And a voice came from heaven: ‘You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.’ Luke 3:15-17, 21-22 

Drama 

So let’s see what the baptism of Jesus would look like, are we ready?

When Jesus arrived he waited until all the other people had been baptised first, he then prayed
(Jesus stands with hands in prayer behind the sheet with John)

(John pushes Jesus down under the sheet)

 and as he was baptised the heavens opened, a dove appeared over Jesus
(Child stood on chair with dove)
 

and God spoke
(Child says)
“‘You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased”

Applause and praise the child actors

John had fulfilled the prophecy, that Jesus would come and baptise us with the Holy Spirit.
God showed his love for his son and so in turn for us.
Baptism was the beginning of Jesus’s ministry, and for us, when we are baptised, it is our first calling from Jesus to be part of God’s kingdom, the start of our own ministry.
Jesus lived a human life so God could feel what it was like to be us. Jesus was baptised with water, like the way we are baptised, Jesus is special but we are all special to God.
Jesus is the Son of God. You are also God’s child. God loves you just the way you are. You are loved just because you are you.

Leave a Reply

