Love of Christ

Falling in love is one of those experiences that is hard to fully describe. I mean it feels different for each person but trying to put that into words can be challenging.

At first maybe new love can stimulate a touch of nerves, a faster heartbeat caused by worrying if your feelings will be reciprocated. Maybe there is a shock realisation of being in love! Was it unplanned, was it love at first sight or was it now a friend being seen in a different light? The feeling of excitement being on the cusp of a new relationship, the possibility of what happiness it will bring, what wonderful times will come ahead.

When I fell in love with this boy I worked with, I knew it was something special, I described one of our first conversations as “like fireworks were going off in the background”. In reality there were no fireworks, we were stood on the washing detergent aisle in a supermarket, but I remember the burning in my heart when he held me, the butterflies in my stomach when he made me laugh and the feeling of emptiness of him not being there, but needing to see him again soon.

“My soul yearns for you in the night; in the morning my spirit longs for you” (Isaiah 26:9)

This passage from Isaiah 26 sums up what love feels like. The words “Yearns” and “longs” perfectly describe the drawn-out, painful pulling of a heart filled with love, a heart that is not with the one it loves. Replace the words with “misses” and “waits” and it just doesn’t have the same affect, you could be describing a long wait for lunch to be served! 

The love of Christ is an irresistible love, one that pulls not only on your heart, but on your very soul and spirit. Christ’s love envelops you all day, even whilst asleep and as soon as your mind is awake, you yearn for his love.

I remember sleepless nights falling in love with my soon to be husband, lying in my bed, staring into the dark, daydreaming of our next meeting, wishing time would pass quicker until I saw him again. In the morning I would text him before I did anything else, hoping to hear back, just for a glimpse of contact to feel that burn in my heart.

Falling in love with Christ is and has been a similar experience, one I can only describe as a burning, unquenchable flame in my chest, and a pulling, yearning sensation that comes from the very centre of my body, that spreads up through my chest and breathes out of my mouth.

Closing my eyes and praying to my Lord quenches the flames temporarily. My dreams are busy since I opened my heart to Christ and in the morning I have unimaginable inspiration to read the bible, to read about others touched by his love, to pray often so my spirit is with him, to go to Church and all this whilst feeling absolutely wonderful as I listen to his call.

I am in love with the Lord, and it is marvellous.

Yes, LORD, walking in the the way of your laws, we wait for you; your name and renown are the desire of our hearts. My soul yearns for you in the night; in the morning my spirit longs for you (Isaiah 26:8-9)

 

Leave a Reply

